Echo Names 2015 Leaders of the Year

By KJ Philp, January 2016 Issue.

As each year comes to a close, the Echo Magazine team takes pause to reflect on the events that defined the past 12 months and the exceptional individuals who led the way.

To these individuals, Echo bestows its Leaders of the Year recognition (formerly Man and Woman of the Year).

This year, the leaders being recognized were decided, in part, by our readers. Here’s how: Because the 2015 Echo Readers’ Choice Award recipients that you voted for in the categories of “Service by a Man” and “Service by a Woman” finished the year out with such momentum, this marks the first time they’re both returning to be recognized with Echo’s highest honor.

Without further ado, we’re proud to introduce you to Katy June and Stacy Louis, Echo’s Leaders of the Year for 2015. We invite you to get to know more about these outstanding community members, their work and the causes they’re passionate about in the following pages. But first, let’s take a look back at the past 21 years of honorees who paved the way!

Meet Echo’s previous men and women of the year:

1994: Bill MacDonald & Dianne Post
1995: Barb Jones & Mark Colledge
1996: Beth Verity & Ken Cheuvront
1997: Linda Hoffman & Neil Giuliano
1998: Kim Charrier & Steve May
1999: Amy Ettinger & Steve May
2000: Richard Stevens & Marti McElroy
2001: Kathie Gummere & Doug Klinge
2002: Don Hamill & Jeannie Metzler
2003: Kirk Baxter & Madeline Adelman
2004: Brad Wishon & Cathy Busha
2005: David Fiss & Kyrsten Sinema
2006: Bill Lewis & Brandi Sokolosky
2007: Tom Simplot & Regina Gazelle
2008: Gary Guerin & Annie Loyd
2009: Micheal Weakley & Tambra Williams
2010: Meg Sneed & Jimmy Gruender
2011: Caleb Laieski & Kado Stewart
2012: Greg Stanton & Nicole Stanton
2013: Julian Melson & Trudie Jackson
2014: Kit Kloeckl & Angela Hughey
2015: Katy June & Stacy Louis